You are here:  About ATC
 About ATC

Since the early 20th century, Acadiana Technical College campuses have offered hundreds of thousands of students the opportunity to make decisions about what they want to accomplish in their lives while gaining the knowledge and skills needed to bring their dreams to fruition.

The college is a complex mix of challenging academics, hands-on career programs and unique opportunities that allow you to pursue your interests both on and off campus, in Acadiana and around the world an opportunity for you to prepare for what's next and to gain experience with what matters.

In the end, defining who you are is something you'll have to do for yourself. But we can help you to explore your options, discover which ones fit and make things happen in your life. Whether you're just beginning to consider your options or you're ready to get on with life, Greater Acadiana Region 4 campuses may be just what you need to discover how you want to change your world.

Take some time now to find out what  Acadiana Technical College campuses have to offer you.

If you ever have any questions, always feel free to contact us here at one of our eight campus locations.

We are excited about the success you can achieve!

The College

Originally known as trade schools, Louisiana's present day Technical College System began with the establishment of the first campus in Bogalusa in November 1930. Funding for that school was provided by local citizens in response to their desire to expand course offerings of the local school system to include training in automotive mechanics and woodworking. In 1936 a second trade school came into existence in Shreveport. The system expanded by five schools with passage of Louisiana Legislative Act 14 in 1938. Schools were constructed in Winnfield, Crowley (Acadian Campus), Lake Charles, Opelousas (T. H. Harris Campus), and Natchitoches. Two schools in Monroe were added in the early 1940s as a result of the War Production Training Program. Louisiana Legislative Act 109, passed in 1942, authorized a tenth school in the statewide system to be built in Cottonport; it was completed after World War II in 1947.

The system expanded in the early 1950s as the result of passing the Vocational Education Act of 1946. From 1950 to 1957, 17 additional schools were constructed (including the Teche Area Campus), bringing the cumulative total of state operated post-secondary technical schools to 27.

Between 1958 and 1973, system expansion slowed considerably with only six additional schools constructed. However, expansion increased with passage of Acts 208 and 209 of the Louisiana Legislature in 1973. Act 208 provided for a comprehensive statewide system of career education from elementary through post-secondary levels of education. From 1974 to 1987, the system added 22 additional campuses (including Lafayette Campus, Charles B. Coreil Campus, Evangeline Campus, and Gulf Area Campus). This legislation also led to consolidation of historically black technical schools with other technical institutions in Opelousas, Monroe, and Natchitoches. The net effect of changes was a statewide system of post-secondary technical training involving 53 campuses.

Since the late 1980s, there has been a decrease in the number of post-secondary state-operated technical institutions; currently there are 38 campuses in the system. The number of occupational program offerings grew from 10 in the 1940s to approximately 75 today, comprised of Certificate, Technical Diploma, and Associate Degree levels of completion. Enrollment grew from 60 students in 1931 to 932 students in 1943. By 1973, enrollment had increased to 12,543 for the 23 schools built between 1950 and 1973, with an estimated total enrollment for the 33 schools in the system of 15,000. In the 1997-98 fiscal year, Louisiana Technical College (LTC) served over 49,000 daytime, extension (evening), and industry students.

The technical college campuses are governed by the fifteen members of the Louisiana Community and Technical College Systems (LCTCS) Board of Supervisors as created in 1998 by Section 7 of Act 170, which in turn comes under regulations set forth by the Louisiana Board of Regents for Higher Education. Act 506 of the 2005 Legislative session required reorganization of the LTC. Today, the Technical College System of Louisiana is a statewide technical education system composed of eight (8) regions with 38 technical college campuses, each consisting of multicultural population encompassing much diversification in the way of ideas, traditions, values, skills, and arts.

Quick Links Minimize

Lafayette Campus
1101 Bertrand Drive ()
Lafayette, LA 70506
Phone: ext. 124
Lafayette Parish Quick Facts

View FAFSA/Pell/ACT school codes

Select here for Aviation Maintenance Technology Dept. Extension Information


 Tell A Friend About Us
  Tell-A-Friend About This Page!



The National Science Foundation - NSF Grant The Fabricators & Manufacturers Association, International (FMA) LA ePortal Get a Game Plan


Council on Occupational Education